Need a pick-me-up? Exercise

fitness

fitness (Photo credit: The Survival Woman)

See, this is something I know…something I’ve known for a long time.  But I let my exercise time slip away until pretty much all of the exercise I was getting was at work.  Now my job involves a lot of walking so that’s a plus, but it’s still not the same as making an effort to get consistent, sustained exercise.

And then I got sick…really sick.  For a long time.  Going on four weeks now.  I had a bad cold, started recovering from that and came down with the flu.  With respiratory issues.  So not a lot of exercise going on during that time.  I did work for most of it until the flu hit me.  That’s when I found myself spending an awful lot of time in bed.  Wow!  That’s the way to really lose your level of conditioning quickly.

I could feel that today when I got out of the house to do a little shopping.  Pretty slow going, but it sure felt good to get out of the house for a while.  And I decided I felt well enough to get in a little exercise today too.  Not a lot.  About 20 minutes altogether, but I did do some slow walking.  It sure did lift my spirits to be able to move and breathe at the same time.

Now the key for me is to remind myself of how good it makes me feel to move…and then do it!

2 Comments

Filed under weight loss

2 responses to “Need a pick-me-up? Exercise

  1. I’m having trouble getting exercise in right now. Every day it seems I have to be somewhere, which totally messes up my routine.

Leave a Reply

